If you are arrested for shoplifting, it is important to learn more about the criminal charges you are facing and to seek help from a Michigan retail fraud defense lawyer as soon as you can. We often assist individuals who are facing shoplifting charges, and we want to walk you through some of the most important steps to take after being arrested in Michigan.
Understand the Charges You are Facing
If you are caught shoplifting in Michigan, you will likely be facing retail fraud charges (MCL 750.356c). Depending upon the value of the item you allegedly stole or attempted to steal, you could be facing anything from a misdemeanor offense for retail fraud in the third degree to a felony offense for retail fraud in the first degree. Retail fraud in the first degree is the most serious shoplifting charge you can face, and it is a felony offense. It is charged when the value of the property in question totals $1,000 or more. Retail fraud in the second degree is a misdemeanor offense that is charged when the value of the property shoplifted is between $200 and $999. Finally, retail fraud in the third degree is the least serious of the shoplifting charges in Michigan, and it is a misdemeanor offense that is charged when someone steals property valued at under $200.