Michigan has strict driving under the influence laws and some of the most serious penalties in the country. A conviction for a second offense may have life-altering consequences, and a third offense is a felony. If you have been charged with OWI offenses, seeking legal representation from a skilled OWI lawyer should be the first thing you do.
Charges and accompanying penalties depend on the circumstances of the case. They include:
Facing charges for repeat offenses of OWI/DUI in Michigan can be daunting. This is why it is very important to seek the help of experienced Michigan DUI lawyers. At Michigan Defense Law, DUI attorney Paul J. Tafelski and his team of drunk driving attorneys may be able to help.
Call us today at (248) 451-2200 to schedule a consultation.
The penalties that may apply when an offender has a second or third conviction include:
A second conviction within seven years of the first conviction:
Felony third conviction (regardless of time since prior convictions):
The Zero Tolerance Law makes it a misdemeanor for a person under the age of 21 to operate a motor vehicle with any BAC, except for that which would generally be consumed at a recognized religious ceremony.
Penalties for a repeat offender of Zero Tolerance include:
WE ARE HERE TO HELP
Michigan’s drunk driving laws require that certain offenses be punished with minimum terms of imprisonment. A judge must sentence a drunk driver who has been intoxicated for at least five days and up to one year after committing the second offense. The minimum mandatory sentence for felony drunk driving is 30 days imprisonment. This applies to any offense that has occurred within 7 years of the previous offense. These mandatory minimum sentences are still in effect, but they have been removed. Offenders can be released from prison if they enroll in and complete a special court program. The new law has removed the mandatory five-day sentence that was previously applied to child endangerment.
The first and second OWI/DUI convictions in Michigan are treated as misdemeanors. While the third and subsequent are considered felonies. A first-degree misdemeanor will result in the most severe penalties and fines, while a second-degree misdemeanor will be punished with fewer penalties and fines.
OWI felonies carry harsher sentences. They are typically the result of OWI that results in serious bodily injury, or death. OWI that causes serious impairment to another person can lead to a five-year prison sentence, a $1,000-$5,000 fine, or both. A person who drives under the influence and causes death is subject to a maximum 15-year sentence, a $2,500 to $10,000 fine, or both.
If you are facing charges of repeat drunk driving offenses, it is important to speak with an experienced DUI lawyer. Having a skilled lawyer may be able to help the defendant understand their rights and receive a more favorable outcome.
To schedule a consultation, call us today at (248) 451-2200.
Intoxicated driving is a serious problem for public safety and health, and Michigan prosecutors are aggressive in seeking convictions. If you have been charged with driving under the influence, you need an experienced criminal defense attorney as your advocate. Paul Tafelski and Andrew W. Kowalkowski, criminal defense attorneys at Michigan Defense Law, understand how the state builds their cases, and they work hard to ensure every client has the best possible outcome.
When a driver accepts a Michigan driver’s license, they give “implied consent.” That means if an officer asks them to submit to a chemical sobriety test (blood, breath, or urine) and they refuse, their license may be automatically suspended for one year, and six points will be added to their license. Under the law, chemical testing is mandatory if a driver is suspected of driving under the influence, but field sobriety testing is not.
If you have been stopped you may exercise your Constitutional right to request a lawyer. Once you request to speak to a lawyer, the police are obligated to stop questioning and cease all information-gathering procedures, including field sobriety tests.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, standard field sobriety tests include:
Michigan law enforcement officers may also use non-standardized tests such as:
These non-standard tests are subjective, with no real scientific merit. Additionally, according to the Legal Update provided by the Michigan State Police, officers may request a person perform field sobriety tests during an investigation; however, a person cannot be cited or arrested for failing to submit to field sobriety tests.
Call Michigan Defense Law today if you are facing charges of repeat DUI/OWI offenses. Free consultation: (248) 451-2200.
Charges for driving under the influence do not necessarily mean a conviction is inevitable. Depending on the facts of the case, one or more defenses may be applicable, such as:
A conviction for driving under the influence depends on the state’s proving the defendant was in control of the vehicle. However, there is no definitive legal answer to the definition of control. Questions may be raised in cases such as when a driver, who realized their limitations, pulled off the road to sleep it off. Other important facts that may support or undermine the issue of control include:
Did something make you stand out from the rest of the vehicles on the road? Were your headlights and tail lights in good working order?
If you failed to come to a complete stop when mandated or made a turn without signaling, then the police may have had a reason to stop your vehicle. However, potentially insufficient reasons for a stop include:
A felony conviction for driving under the influence may have greater consequences than just the penalties ordered by the court. There is a long list of potential negative impacts on a person’s life and future, including but not limited to:
If you plead guilty to a felony or are found guilty, then your arrest record will not be private or confidential. Detailed information including fingerprints and photos will be shared with state and federal law enforcement.
A criminal charge does not have to disrupt your life forever. The experienced criminal defense team at Michigan Defense Law may help you overcome the charges, and get your life back on track as quickly as possible.
To speak with an experienced Michigan criminal defense attorney, call us today at (248) 451-2200.
Michigan Defense Law offers a no-cost and no-obligation consultation. If you are charged with driving under the influence offense, hire an experienced lawyer on your side who will work to protect your rights and get the best outcome possible for your case. If you need help you minimize or avoiding problems with ignition interlock devices due to a DUI charge, or if you have had your Michigan driver’s license revoked or suspended as a result of two or more drunk driving convictions, do not hesitate to seek legal help.
Contact Michigan Defense Law today at (248) 451-2200 or online to schedule your free consultation and learn if we may be able to help you.
People make poor choices when intoxicated. This may be because the first part of the brain to be affected by alcohol consumption is the frontal lobe, the portion of the brain responsible for judgment and reasoning.
Getting behind the wheel when you have been drinking is not a rational or safe decision. Doing so in Michigan can cost you the privilege of driving. Under Michigan law, if your license is revoked for a second DUI, such revocation may be permanent. Additionally, you must wait one full year before you can even begin the process of attempting to regain it.
Under Michigan law, the stakes are high for anyone found guilty of a second-time driving under the influence (DUI) offense. Also referred to as “OWI,” or operating while intoxicated, if you are convicted of DUI within seven years of your first conviction, you may be sentenced to:
If you are facing DUI charges, it is important to be proactive. Speak to a criminal defense lawyer with experience in DUI as soon as possible to protect your rights, and help ensure a bad decision does not have ongoing catastrophic results for your life. Everybody Processes Alcohol Differently
Scientific research shows an individual’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) may be affected by several factors, including but not limited to:
A driver’s license suspension means:
You still have a license, but it will be suspended for a specific period, and after your period of suspension has passed, your driving privileges will be restored.
A driver’s license revocation means:
Michigan’s laws are strict. If you receive a second alcohol-related conviction within seven years of your first conviction, your driver’s license will be revoked. The law is unbending; it will not matter if you need your license for employment or to take care of your family. You will not be able to file a license appeal for at least one year.
For some offenders, it may be possible to have driving privileges restored by complying with certain stringent requirements of the Michigan Secretary of State. These include submitting required documentation to the Department of State for an Administrative Review. After the Department receives all information, a review may be conducted. At the conclusion of the review, the applicant will receive a written order by mail that either grants or denies the request.
If you are looking for a driver’s license restoration lawyer, call Michigan Defense Law today. Our team of DUI lawyers may be able to help you receive a more favorable outcome and have your license restored.
Free consultation: (248) 451-2200.
DUI is one of the most common criminal offenses in the United States. However, DUI convictions can have serious and lasting consequences. Apart from the penalties determined by the court, a criminal record can mean restrictions and limitations on future educational and professional opportunities, as well as permanent damage to your reputation and standing in your community.
Negative consequences of a DUI conviction may include:
If you are in Michigan and have been charged with a second DUI (OWI) within seven years of your first conviction, get help from an experienced criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. Attorneys Paul Tafelski and Andrew W. Kowalkowski of Michigan Defense Law work hard to protect the rights of their clients and ensure they get the best possible outcome in their case.
Being charged with DUI does not mean a conviction is inevitable. When it comes to DUI, getting a good attorney to advocate for you is the best thing you can do. They may be able to challenge the evidence or negotiate for dismissal.