Call For Free Consultation

(248) 221-1060

Troy DUI Attorneys

Troy Criminal Defense Attorney Serving Clients Who Are Facing DUI Charges in Michigan

Getting stopped by a law enforcement officer for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI) can be a scary experience for anyone who had no intention of breaking the law. In Michigan, driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is typically charged as Operating While Intoxicated (OWI) (MCL 257.625). An OWI/DUI charge is taken extremely seriously in Michigan, and people with no criminal records or criminal backgrounds regularly are charged with and ultimately convicted of substance abuse offenses.

It is important to keep in mind that Michigan residents are wrongfully accused of DUIs on a regular basis, and it is possible to build a strong defense in your case to avoid a conviction. At Michigan Defense Law, we have significant experience assisting clients with a wide variety of criminal defense cases and can get started on your DUI defense today.

Learning More About Troy, Michigan OWI Charges

Under Michigan law, a person can be charged with an OWI if any of the following is true:

  • Driver is under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance, or other intoxicating substance;
  • Driver has an alcohol content of 0.08 grams or more (in other words, a BAC of 0.08 or higher); and/or
  • Driver has an alcohol content of 0.17 grams or more (in other words, a BAC of 0.17 or higher).

Higher Penalties for High BAC Offenses in Troy

When a driver has a BAC of 0.17 or higher, this is known in Michigan as a High BAC offense. High BAC offenses are more serious than DUI charges for a BAC of 0.08 or higher, but less than 0.17. A High BAC offense is a misdemeanor, and upon conviction it has the following penalties, even if it is a first offense:

  • Up to 180 days in jail;
  • Fine of between $200 and $700;
  • Up to 360 hours community service;
  • License suspension for one year.

Typically, the following are the penalties for a first-time OWI conviction when the driver has a BAC of 0.08 or higher but less than 0.17, or when the driver is under the influence of alcohol or another controlled substance:

  • Up to 93 days in jail;
  • Fine of up to $500;
  • Up to 360 hours community service; and
  • License suspension for one year.

Subsequent offenses carry higher penalties. In other words, if you are convicted of an OWI/DUI a second or third time, the penalties will be more severe.

DUI Defense in Troy, Michigan

The following are some possible defenses to beat a DUI/OWI charge:

  • Law enforcement officer did not have a legal reason to stop you;
  • Breath, blood, or urine test was unreliable;
  • Breath, blood, or urine test was tainted;
  • You have a medical condition that led you to appear to have a higher BAC than you actually had;
  • There were problems with the field sobriety test you were given;
  • Breathalyzer was faulty;
  • Law enforcement officer used breathalyzer incorrectly; and/or
  • Chemical test to determine BAC was administered improperly.

Contact a Troy DUI Lawyer

If you are facing DUI/OWI charges in Michigan, a Troy DUI defense attorney can assist with your case. Contact Michigan Defense Law today to learn more about our services.

Complete the form below

  • Bloomfield Hills, MI Office

    2525 S. Telegraph Rd. Suite 100
    Bloomfield Hills, MI 48302
    Phone: 248-221-1060
    Fax: 248-456-8470