Detroit, MI DUI Attorney
An arrest for drunk driving is a traumatic experience and the penalties for a conviction may be severe, despite the fact that you may have simply exercised poor judgment. Besides putting your driving privileges at risk and being forced to pay fines, there’s the stigma of a DUI conviction in Michigan. In severe cases, you may even face incarceration.
The attorneys at the office of Paul J. Tafelski are dedicated to fighting drunk driving cases and helping people win back their lives. You are entitled to your day in court, and an experienced DUI lawyer can assist with a strong defense strategy that attacks the charges against you. We work with clients throughout the State of Michigan and all of Oakland County, including Detroit, Plymouth, Novi, Troy, Bloomfield Hills, Rochester Hills, West Bloomfield, and Birmingham. Please visit us online or call our office at (248) 221-1060 today to discuss your situation. Our attorneys have in-depth knowledge of Michigan drunk driving laws and will protect your rights.
Michigan Law on OWI: Operating While Intoxicated
In Michigan, the official term for drunk driving is “Operating While Intoxicated,” defined as having a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or higher. For individuals under 21 years old and commercial driver’s license holders, the applicable BACs are 0 percent and .04 percent, respectively.
The penalties for an OWI conviction increase with subsequent offenses, so:
- First Offense: You face up to 93 days in jail and a six month license suspension, plus a fine ranging from $100-$500.
- Second Offense: Along with a minimum one year driver’s license suspension, you could be forced to pay a fine from $200-$1,000. Plus, you’re looking at a minimum five days and a maximum of one year in jail, or community service of 30-90 days.
- Third and Subsequent Offenses: A judge must sentence you to a minimum of 30 days in jail, but may increase the incarceration to five years. Your fine may range from $200-$1,000, and you lose your driving privileges for at least one year.
Note that an ignition interlock device (IID) is required for a second or third OWI conviction, but a court may require one even for a first offense. The lookback period for purposes of subsequent convictions under Michigan’s drunk driving laws is seven years.
Implied Consent Law
Like many states, Michigan has enacted an implied consent law that subjects you to fines and a license suspension if you refuse to take a chemical test when requested. Your driving privileges are automatically suspended for one year if you’re a first time offender; for a third refusal, you face a five year license suspension.
Consult with a Detroit DUI/OWI Lawyer Right Away
If you’re facing drunk driving charges in Michigan, it’s important to speak with an experienced OWI attorney in Detroit right away. The penalties for a conviction are severe, impacting your driving privileges, personal freedoms, and wallet. Our OWI lawyers at the office of Paul J. Tafelski can help, so please contact us online or call our office at (248) 221-1060 for more information.