DUI Lawyer in Plymouth, MI
Even if it’s the result of a simple mistake, being arrested for drunk driving is an upsetting experience and the legal consequences are serious. You may lose your driver’s license and be sentenced to pay hefty fines. In severe cases, you may even face jail time. Plus, there’s the stigma of a DUI conviction in Michigan that impacts your future.
Our lawyers at the office of Paul J. Tafelski have more than a decade of experience representing clients in drunk driving cases throughout the State of Michigan and all of Oakland County, including Plymouth, Detroit, Novi, Troy, Bloomfield Hills, Rochester Hills, West Bloomfield, and Birmingham. Anyone accused of DUI is entitled to defend against the charges, and you greatly increase your chances of a positive outcome when you have a knowledgeable attorney at your side. Please call our office at (248) 221-1060 or visit our website right away with questions about your case. We can also schedule a consultation to discuss your circumstances.
Operating While Intoxicated (OWI) Under Michigan Law
The legal term for drunk driving is “Operating While Intoxicated” in Michigan, and it’s defined as having a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or higher. A lower threshold of 0 percent applies to motorists under 21 years old, while commercial driver’s license holders may face charges for a BAC of .04 percent or above.
The penalties for an OWI conviction increase with subsequent offenses, with a lookback period of seven years. Therefore:
- First Offense: A judge may sentence you to a maximum of 93 days in jail, a six month license suspension, and a fine of $100-$500.
- Second Offense: You face a minimum one year suspension of your driving privileges and a fine ranging from $200-$1,000. Plus, you’re looking at a minimum five days and up to one year in jail, though you may receive community service of 30-90 days.
- Third and Subsequent Offenses: A judge must give you a minimum of 30 days’ incarceration, but may sentence up to five years in jail. The fine may be up to $1,000, and you lose your driver’s license for at least one year.
Note that an ignition interlock device (IID) is required for a second or third OWI conviction; however, a court may require one for a first offense under certain circumstances.
Michigan is one of many states that has passed an implied consent law, which carries fines and a driver’s license suspension if you refuse a chemical test to assess your BAC. Your driving privileges are automatically suspended for one to three years, depending on your history.
Contact a Plymouth DUI/OWI Attorney Today
The penalties for drunk driving in Michigan are harsh, including a driver’s license suspension, fines, and jail time. There’s a lot at stake, so it’s critical to consult with a knowledgeable OWI lawyer in Plymouth as soon as possible. For more information on how the OWI attorneys at the office of Paul J. Tafelski can help, please visit our website or call us at (248) 221-1060.